I’ll be home for Christmas

This is a favorite song of mine. It says:

I’ll be home for Christmas
You can count on me
Please have snow and mistletoe
And presents under the tree

I’ll be home for Christmas
If only in my dreams…

This is the life of an immigrant… or emigrant … depending on how you look at it.

My week in Sofia is marked with amazing friends, great parties, precious encounters and valuable knowledge, all of which I can experience only because I have two houses.

I live in Spain, but my home is in Sofia.

I arrived back home thinking about all the friends and love I left behind. In a short year I have won the trust of people who I have never anticipated to meet. Yet, once I step foot on Bulgarian ground, I felt comfort and calm which nothing will ever match.

I went out last night – my last night in Sofia. I was going out to a bar, but instead, I ended up in a disco where I ran into old school friends, former colleagues and new acquaintances. It is strange. People that I had never kept in touch with and that I have never imagined I will talk to in a bar, came to ask me how I am, wanted to know what I have been up to and were interested in all the great events in my life.

Пак ще се срещнем след десет години
За да разкаже всеки от нас
Със какво се е преборил от какво не е заспивал
И какво е надживял

(We will meet again in ten years, and each one of us will share, what they fought with, because of what they couldn’t sleep, and what they could overcome)

It is amazing to realize that you have family and friends (someones those whom you never expected) to come home to (regardless of the country), to share with (regardless of the language), and to feel close to (regardless of the distance).

I have been blessed with such an experience on Christmas.

On Christmas there are miracles!!!

Merry Christmas and a Happy 2010 year!!! And many more joyful ones to come!

With love,

M.

About Maria Bakardjieva

I am a licensed Social Media Strategist and Networking Coach who helps business and people position, grow and develop. I work at Explicata - an online marketing experts company. You can find us at www.explicata.com
This entry was posted in Bulgaria, Cultural Events, Пътешествия, Nightlife, Spain and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll be home for Christmas

  1. Eric says:

    I’m really happy for you that was a nice christmas! That’s great!

Leave a Reply

